header general

Chasm: The Rift texture pack troubleshooting

• Impie
  • Impie's Avatar Topic Author
  • Dark Imp
  • Dark Imp
More
9 years 1 month ago #1 by Impie
I'm new to zdoom stuff and custom texture packs, and I've been trying to use the Chasm texture pack listed here (not the Beta one, which works without any problems so far). I described my troubles over at Doomworld and thought I'd post about it here in case it's the texture set's problem and not my own ignorance.

The first problem was a couple of Decorate tags that were causing errors. Removing the tags got rid of the error messages, but another problem persists:

...except for the flats and a few random sidedefs, most of the textures are checkerboard pattern when I test the map, but show up properly in the map editor. I didn't check "exclude this resource from testing parameters" or anything.

http://imgur.com/nliw8gC
^ In DB2 ^

http://imgur.com/Djv5TF9
^ In Doom ^

I am incapable of getting these textures to work properly, even when building the map in UDMF or Hexen format. Is there something wrong with the texture set or am I just doing something wrong yet again?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MagicWazard
More
9 years 4 weeks ago #2 by MagicWazard
Replied by MagicWazard on topic Chasm: The Rift texture pack troubleshooting
Several of the problematic textures have extra spaces in their filenames. Deleting the spaces from the filenames allows them to display in-game correctly. I didn't try them all out, but I'm guessing this will be the case for all the affected textures.

• Impie
  • Dark Imp
  • Dark Imp
More
9 years 4 weeks ago - 9 years 4 weeks ago #3 by Impie
Which format did you create the map in? Doom in Hexen format? UDMF? I've been using UDMF and the filename doesn't appear to matter: many of the problem textures have no spaces in the filename. And I just noticed that still others don't display the correct colors in-game.